Skip to main content

E-books: E-book collections

Suggest an e-book for purchase

Suggest acquisition of an e-book via acquisition proposal form. Select material type "Electronic book." Please note that although a book can be purchased in electronic format by individuals, it may not be available for organizations (e.g. libraries).    

New e-books

A list of Savonia Library's new e-books can be found here >>

Most popular e-books

Loading ...

E-book collections

Content   Dawsonera contains e-books from different subject areas, mainly in English. Savonia Library's Dawsonera collection (Owned) has about 330 e-books. The whole service has over 500 000 e-books.
Where can I find the e-books   In addition to this guide, the link to the collection is in the Database list. Individual e-books can also be found via Savonia-Finna.
Usage rights and login info   Students and staff of Savonia UAS can use electronic resources acquired by the library. Dawsonera e-books are available on the Savonia network and through remote access. Login with your Savonia ID and password.   
Number of simultaneous users   Mainly unlimited access, but a few e-books have a restriction of one simultaneous user.
Reading and downloading  

You can read Dawsonera e-books online in your web browser or download them to your computer or mobile device.

If you choose to download an e-book to your device, you must have a personal Adobe account and a reader software/app in your device. Read the instructions from the Download and read e-books page.

Computer
 

  Downloading Dawsonera e-books to a computer requires an Adobe account and the free Adobe Digital Editions software.
iPad, iPhone
 
  You can download and read Dawsonera e-books on your iPad and iPhone using the free Bluefire Reader App.
Read further instructions from the Download and read e-books page
Android devices
 
  You can download and read Dawsonera e-books on your Android devices using the free Bluefire Reader App.
Read further instructions from the Download and read e-books page

Windows devices

  Downloading Dawsonera e-books requires an e-book reader that opens DRM-protected files. With Windows mobile devices (operating systems RT, 8 and 10) you can try, for example, the Overdrive app.  
Compatible e-book readers
 
  You can read Dawsonera e-books online, if the e-book reader has a web browser and a connection to the internet.
Loan periods   The user can choose a loan period between 1-5 days when downloading the e-book. E-books that have a restriction of one simultaneous user have the loan period of two days.
Printing   Limited. Print limits vary between different titles. When reading the e-book in the web browser, check the "Print" option for how many pages can be printed from the e-book. Downloaded e-books can't be printed.
More  

In Dawsonera's own interface you can search and browse all the e-books in the Dawsonera collection, not just those that the library has purchased from Dawsonera. Those e-books that don't belong in Savonia Library's Dawsonera collection (Owned), you can either suggest for purchase or make a rental request.  

You can also preview the first 50 pages from the e-books.

More instructions     Dawsonera instructions.
Ebsco eBooks
Content  

About twenty e-books from different subject areas in English.

Where can I find the e-books   Individual e-books can be found via Savonia-Finna.
Usage rights and login info   Students and staff of Savonia UAS can use electronic resources acquired by the library. E-books are available on the Savonia network and through remote access. Login with your Savonia ID and password.    
Number of simultaneous users   Varies. Some e-books have a restriction of one to three simultaneous users.
Reading and downloading  

You can read e-books online in Ebsco's own reader without downloading them to your computer. You can also download most e-books to your computer and read them offline. Downloading is possible if you have signed in with your Savonia ID and password and with your personal EbscoHost account (needed on the first time). If you do not have an EbscoHost account, create one in "Create a new MyEbscoHost account and link it to your institution account".  In the future you only have to sign in with your Savonia ID and password.

Use "Link your existing My EBSCOhost account to your institution account now" if you already have an EbscoHost account.

Computer
 

 

You can download most e-books to a computer and open them with Adobe Digital Editions.

NB! You need to be signed in with your Savonia ID and password that has been linked to your personal EbscoHost account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading).

 

iPad, iPhone
 
 

You can download most e-books to your mobile device and open them with Bluefire Reader app.

NB! You need to be signed in with your Savonia ID and password that has been linked to your personal EbscoHost account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading) and from Ebsco's Help-page.

Android devices
 
 

You can download most e-books to your mobile device and open them with Bluefire Reader app.

NB! You need to be signed in with your Savonia ID and password that has been linked to your personal EbscoHost account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading) and from Ebsco's Help-page.

Windows devices

 

  You can read e-books online in Ebsco's own reader without downloading them to your device.
Compatible e-book readers
 
  You can read Ebsco e-books with all devices and apps supporting Adobe eBook DRM.
Loan periods   No loan periods when reading e-books online. When downloading e-books, you can choose the loan period from one to seven days.
Printing   Limited. Print limits vary between different titles, but are 100 pages at the most.
More instructions   Ebsco ebook instructions.
Ellibs
Content   Savonia Library's Ellibs-collection has about 500 e-books from several subject areas; about thirty of them are in English.
Where can I find the e-books   In addition to this guide, the link to the collection is in the Database list. Individual e-books can also be found via Savonia-Finna.
Usage rights and login info   Students and staff of Savonia UAS can use electronic resources acquired by the library. Ellibs e-books are available on the Savonia network and through remote access. Login with your Savonia ID and password (Haka-login).  
Number of simultaneous users   Varies. Includes also e-books with only one simultaneous user / e-book. "Available copies" shows you how many copies are available.
Reading and downloading  

You can read Ellibs e-books online in your web browser or download them to your computer or mobile device. When reading Ellibs e-books online, the recommended web browsers are Chrome, Safari and Firefox.  

If you choose to download an e-book to your device, you must have a personal Adobe account and a reader software/app in your device. Read the instructions from the Download and read e-books page.

Computer
 

  Downloading Ellibs e-books to a computer requires an Adobe account and the free Adobe Digital Editions software.
iPad, iPhone
 
  You can download and read Ellibs e-books on your iPad and iPhone using the free Bluefire Reader App. Read further instructions from the Download and read e-books page
Android devices
 
 

You can download and read Ellibs e-books on your Android devices using the free Bluefire Reader App. Read further instructions from the Download and read e-books page.

Windows devices
 
  Downloading Ellibs e-books requires an e-book reader that opens DRM-protected files. With Windows mobile devices (operating systems RT, 8 and 10) you can try, for example, the Overdrive app. 
Compatible e-book readers
 
  You can read Ellibs e-books with many e-book readers supporting ePub format and Adobe Digital Editions software. A list of compatible devices.
Loan periods   Varies depending on the book. The e-book can be returned before the loan period ends.
Printing   Limited. Printing is not possible when reading the e-book in a web browser. If the e-book has been downloaded to a reader software or an app, the print limits vary from book to book.
More   On some e-books, there is an option to reserve the book, if it is on loan.
More instructions   Ellibs instructions.

Content  

Academic Complete e-book collection has about 160 000 e-books on the Ebook Central platform. Ebook Central also has about a hundred individually bought e-books. The books are mainly in English.

Where can I find the e-books   In addition to this guide, the link to the collection is in the Database list. Individual e-books can also be found via Savonia-Finna.
Usage rights and login info   Students and staff of Savonia UAS can use electronic resources acquired by the library. E-books from the Ebook Central are available on the Savonia network and through remote access. Login with your Savonia ID and password.    
Number of simultaneous users   Varies. Some e-books have no restrictions on the number of simultaneous users (unlimited or non linear license), but a few e-books have a restriction of one to three simultaneous users.
Reading and downloading  

You can read e-books online in Ebook Central's own reader. You can also download e-books to your own device. NB! You need to be signed in to your personal Ebook Central account to download an e-book. If you do not have an account, click Sign in and join Ebook Central.

Computer
 

 

You can download e-books to a computer and open them with Adobe Digital Editions.

NB! You need to be signed in to your personal Ebook Central account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading).

 

iPad, iPhone
 
 

You can download e-books to your mobile device and open them with free Bluefire Reader app. Download Bluefire Reader to your device from Appstore and authorize the app with your Adobe ID.

NB! You need to be signed in to your personal Ebook Central account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading).

Android devices
 
 

You can download e-books to your mobile device and open them with free Bluefire Reader app. Download Bluefire Reader to your device from Google Play Store and authorize the app with your Adobe ID.

NB! You need to be signed in to your personal Ebook Central account to download an e-book. Read further instructions from above (section Reading and downloading).

Windows devices

 

  You can read e-books online in Ebook Central's own reader without downloading them to your device.
Compatible e-book readers
 
  You can read e-books with devices that have an internet connection and a web browser.
Loan periods   No loan periods when reading e-books online. When downloading e-books, you can choose the loan period from one to seven days.
Printing   Limited. Print limits vary between different titles.
More instructions  

 Ebook Central's Libguide, Ebook Central help page, Ebook Central videos

Loading ...