This guide will help you to listen to e-journals and e-articles in Savonia Library's collections. You will also learn about features that make reading easier.
The ProQuest platform has a built-in text to speech player, which also allows you to download the audio file to listen offline or on another device. The text-to-speech player appears on the “Full text” tab of a document, below the abstract and above the body of the document.
EBSCOhost has a Text-to-Speech feature in the Online full text viewer, which also allows you to download a mp3 version of the article to your device. To open the feature:
Locate a full-text article available in full text that you would like read to you and click the Access now button to select to read the Online full text version.
In the Online full text viewer, click the Headphone icon in the tools menu to open the Listen panel on the right and click the Play button to listen.
More instructions on how to use the Text-to-Speech feature.
Note: EBSCO's current version of Text-to-Speech will read English Language and anglicized content. It will skip any non-anglicized content / characters, as well as embedded images like tables, charts, or graphs.
You can listen to any article from any publication with PressReader's built-in Text-to-Speech feature. You can access the tool by selecting the listen icon within the publication issue details. Alternatively, you can switch to text view and select the more... icon (three dots) in the article you wish to listen to. This will open a menu where you can choose the listen feature.
Sage Premier does not have a built-in text-to-speech feature. Open the article in the browser and use the "read aloud" function in your browser to listen to the article. You can also listen to those e-articles that are in EPUB format by downloading the article to your computer and opening it with Thorium Reader software. Thorium Reader has a Text-to-Speech feature for EPUB files.
ScienceDirect does not have a built-in text-to-speech feature. Most of the articles in the database have both a HTML version and a PDF version. Open the HTML version of the article in the browser to use the "read aloud" function in your browser to listen to the article.
Video by Oulu University Library .CC-BY-SA 4.0. ( Video 2:42 min, opens on YouTube. English subtitles available.)
Video by Ebsco. (Video 2:53 min, opens on YouTube. English subtitles available.)